I Have Lost It, Or Have I?

I have lost it. I need to find it.
It was very useful at one time.
Took up so little space.
I really do need to find it.

It was filled with remarkable things.
Things of wonder and things of grandeur.
Dreams I think they are called.
I really do need to find it.

At times it feels almost … within reach.
A flicker …. A whisper of a memory.
But, it is not really gone even though
It cannot be found …. among the ruins ….

It was in a space not really big nor terribly small.
It still holds the years that have long since departed.
What have I lost that evades the finding?
My youthful mind that soared so free.

The mind that told me I could do great things.
The mind that told me I could change the world.
Has it really gone? Has it really departed?
Or did I simply ignore what it told me and trampled it soundly beneath a life of mediocrity?

Leave a comment